Running Coach

I bit the bullet and hired a running coach (or Rob did for an early Christmas present)! I’ve been debating about hiring a coach for the past several months with the idea that perhaps a coach could best help me train so that I won’t get injured. I’ve had 2 femoral stress fractures in the past and I really do not want another one but, I’m ready to cross “marathon” off of my bucket list. I’ve decided to try and run the Nashville marathon at the end of April.

So with about 20 weeks to go until the marathon, my coach is going to help me build miles and distance at an appropriate pace based on my 5k and 1/2 marathon PR times. The coach I hired doesn’t actually live in Nashville so we had about an hour and a half video chat session on Wednesday to review the detailed questionnaire that she had me fill out and so that she could watch me do a few stretches and exercises to see what kind of strength and stretching I need to focus on. The next day, she sent me a very detailed spreadsheet of my runs, what pace I should be running, and what I should be focusing on. She also has given me a few strength exercises and stretches to do several times per week. I can email her with any questions and these first few weeks she really wants to keep an eye on how my runs are going.

Hiring a coach seems like such a big commitment to me because now that I’m paying her money, I feel pretty tied to this marathon. No more excuses for me (unless my body just can’t handle it)! My workouts will focus a lot on running for now with a little bit of yoga. I’m going to take a break from tabata style workouts for the time being so that I can safely build miles without over stressing my legs.

I’ll keep you updated on my marathon journey!

Happy running,

Mary

ps- Here is the info on the coach I hired 🙂

One thought on “Running Coach

Leave a Reply

