The End of Year 3

Most people end and start a new year on New Years. As a teacher, we mark our years by the school calendar. I can’t believe that I have finished up year 3! It has gone by so fast! Older teachers always say that you hit the five year mark before you blink and all of the sudden it’ll be twelve years and so on. This year was my best year yet! I loved my job and the people I worked with after a rough second year. I’ll be returning to the same school in the fall and I’m excited to continue on with my students.

This summer I am teaching summer school for six weeks and nannying three days/week in the afternoons. Summer school is only half days and we have every Friday off. The reason I’m working so hard over the summer is that…I bought a mountain bike!

When Matt first convinced me to mountain bike last fall, I hated it! I was so out of shape from my foot surgery making it hard to keep up. He convinced me to give it another try and I demoed a bike in April in Fruita (western CO). I absolutely loved it! The trails were flowy and fun. Also, I am in much better shape now and was able to keep up.

IMG_1665

After this trip, I knew I wanted to have a bike to bring along on camping trips. I didn’t want to be left behind at the trailhead! I rode another demo bike in Fort Collins a few weeks later and once again loved it. It makes me feel free and more daring than I typically would be! Matt and I started looking and found a used bike and I bought it. Hopefully I will have a lot of fun adventures on this bike in the future!

IMG_1739

We are off to New Mexico this weekend in the camper van with friends! I am hoping to get in a few rides on my new bike along with some hikes. Who knew I would have a new hobby??! IMG_1674

2 thoughts on “The End of Year 3

  1. I thought I already commented on this, woops. Looks like a fun new hobby! Eben had a good mountain bike for a while… I think one of mine can be used off road if I switch the tires? Congrats on making in to the summer! I

    Like

Leave a Reply

