October Catch Up

Happy Fall! Thought I would write a post to catch you up on random life happenings.

img_3368

  1. Work- I started my job and I’ve been at it for 5 weeks now! I went from having endless amounts of free time, getting lots of sleep, and exercising all of the time to just about the exact opposite…but I’m okay with that. I see clients in the office for prenatal visits (mostly) about 1-3 days per week and then am on call for about 36 hours per week. The call hours can be slow or they can be crazy busy- just depends on the babies who decide they need to be born that day. As a new midwife, I feel like l carry a lot of stress around with me and am constantly double and triple checking myself to make sure that I don’t miss anything. It is definitely a hard transition into the provider role, without a preceptor always reassuring me. All in all, I do think I have one of the coolest jobs in the world.img_3423 (Midwifery school friends at a wedding last weekend)
  2.  Running- After a week hiatus from running last week because of a nasty cold and crazy work schedule, I’m back at it. I’m still hoping that I can run a half marathon at the end of November. It will definitely not be a PR race but I haven’t ran a race in 2 years so I just want to get out there again. The fall running weather has been lovely and it feels good to be increasing my mileage. I also joined the Oiselle Volee! Anne makes it sound like such a fun group of women runners so I decided to give it a try. I’ve been looking for a way to connect with other female runners in the Chicago area so I’m hoping that this helps. Plus, it’s a further excuse to buy fun running clothes 😉
  3. Arlo- Arlo has been doing pretty well adjusting to life with a working mom again. Fortunately, we have a lady in the building who has a dog walking business and I can text her spur of the moment if needed and she can take Arlo out. Since moving to Chicago, the “little” guy has gained a bit of weight so we are now working on getting him back to a healthier size. He didn’t have the best running summer so hopefully with the fall weather, he can get back into running shape and shed a few pounds. Arlo has taken to LOVING ropes…and by loving I mean destroying. I bought four ropes from Amazon and he destroyed them in a week. So yesterday, I bought him a fancy rope at a local dog shop that was supposed to be more tightly twisted….he destroyed it in a day. Any rope recommendations?img_3424
  4. Chicago- It’s crazy that we have lived here for almost 5 months! It is great living so close to water again and I feel lucky that I can run by the lake whenever I want. If Chicago didn’t have the lake, I don’t think I could take it. City living definitely has its ups (so much to do, easy access to everything) and downs (traffic, city smells, noise, lack of green space). I still can’t say definitively if it’s for me or not. Our condo has come a long way since you’ve seen it last. Come visit!
  5. Rob- He is doing well. He works a lot some months and then has some easier weeks (ie. works 50 hours per week vs 80). Overall, I think he enjoys what he is doing.

XO

Mary

7 thoughts on “October Catch Up

  1. I love the dress you wore for that wedding!

    I’m with you about city life. I love living somewhere that I can just walk down the street to the coffee shop or CVS, but anything outside the city gets to be a total pain. I miss having a lake reliably near by, the ocean is dumb and there are no good beaches!

    Like

    1. Thanks! Move to Chicago for the water and me and we have beaches! It also took 2 minutes to walk to the donut shop this morning..another city perk.

      Like

  2. Boo my power went out as I was writing a comment for you! Trying again. Anyway. Yay Volee! Maybe we can run the Chicago marathon someday, or another Chicago race 🙂 So have you been able to catch some babies yet? As far as Arlo goes, we stopped buying ropes for Tessie bc she also ripped them apart and we were worried she was ingesting pieces of them while chewing on them. We have one that we use for tug of rope with her and then we put it up so she can’t just sit and nom on it.

    Like

    1. 1) Yes- I’ve caught a few babies as a real midwife 🙂 2) Yes please to Chicago races and I want to do the RBR when I’m not anemic. 3) We might have to put the rope away too…I do think Arlo eats some of it and I’m worried he is going to end up with a GI obstruction from chewing so much.

      Like

      1. I have a follow up apt with my cardiologist on Tuesday so I’m hoping she gives me the clear to run longer and start doing biking and weights etc so I can really start training again. Maybe then we can pick a Chicago race!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

